Brenda, and Babies

Let us recall this picture from my last post, of our dear family friend, Brenda,

Brendie meeting Ava.

Brendie meeting Ava.

and how she came to see us despite being so very ill.  Fortunately it’s hard to see in this shot, but she literally looked like a corpse:  blue skin, purple lips, black fingertips, skeletal frame, all signs of her late-stage degenerative lung disease.  Just after this picture was taken I quietly left our gathering to have a small cry on my step-mom’s shoulder.

Illness notwithstanding, her lack of oxygen, and subsequent lack of coloring, were partially her own fault.  The tubing in the picture was for her oxygen supply.  As you can see she needed to breathe through her nose in order to get that oxygen.  Brenda the Chatterbox, however, couldn’t suffer silence in a room full of people, not even long enough to inhale through her nose every so often.  Eating dinner was downright impossible:  eat, talk, and breathe at the same time?    No way.  Nothing is more humorous to Brenda than her own shortcomings, so we shared a good laugh at her inability to get any of that oxygen sitting right there on her face.  As she left, my dad made sure we each actually said the words “good-bye” to her, because, he said, we’d never see her again.  Pessimistic, and a little mean, as it sounded, he was right. She succumbed to her illness a month later.

The world is duller without her bubbly personality, her easy conversation and sense of humor.  She is sorely missed, but undoubtedly in a place of comfort and peace.  ❤

I forget that I am not friends with the entire world on Facebook.  While this is a good thing, some people are missing out on the pictures I often post of our little beauty.  So get your smile ready.

Playing at the park.

Playing at the park.

Too big for the dumb carseat.

Too big for the dumb carseat.

Baby selfies!  Not really...she just wanted to eat the camera.

Baby selfies! Not really…she just wanted to eat the camera.

Ava and Oma.

Ava and Oma.

More Oma and Ava

More Oma and Ava

Uncle Andrew making sure Ava doesn't have to play alone at 1 am.

Uncle Andrew making sure Ava doesn’t have to play alone at 1am.

Our sleeping angel.

Our sleeping angel.

Mommy and Ava in head scarves.

Mommy and Ava in head scarves.

She is 5 months old now and thriving.  She is very active, Doc says she is even a little ahead in development. I think she’s just impatient.  She gets frustrated with her own limitations.  She’s learned how to get herself where she wants to go through a series of wiggly maneuvers, however, so her frustration level is less than it was.  She can almost sit herself up.  And everything that can be grasped goes straight to the mouth.

Oooo I have another treat, too.  (If you know this family, don’t tell them that you saw these pictures. There might be more coming.)

Smushy!

Smushy!

Sweetheart!

Sweetheart!

Eeeeee!  I love those little faces!

While looking for pictures for Brenda’s memorial, my step-mom found some from when Jess was about a year old.  Check this out:

My grandmother with Jess, 1994, and Ava, 2014.

My grandmother with Jess, 1994, and Ava, 2014.

Ava did not inherit those big brown eyes: she has her Daddy’s almond-shaped green ones.  She does, however, have Jess’s nose, mouth, and chin.  My grandmother loved that I inherited my dad’s mouth.  I always thought it was an odd thing to appreciate, but now that I see it on my progeny I allow myself the same oddness.  Especially because we all inherited this feature from my grandfather, so it’s fun to see it perpetuating.

Brief update on school:  it’s going.  This semester I have English 1C, officially called Intermediate Critical Thinking and Analytic Composition or some such nonsense, and English Lit (round 2).  It’s rough, but it’s been rougher, and I really like both of my professors, so I’m pushing through.  I spent the day reading Charlotte Bronte’s Villette for English 1C.  Not a bad way to pass a weekend, I say.

Yikes!  It is 5 am!  I should go to bed, yes?  Good night good people.

5 thoughts on “Brenda, and Babies

Leave a Reply

