Forward Movement

Every time I sit down to start a blog post I have something negative to say about school.  I feel like such a whiner.  Really, though, this semester isn’t nearly as difficult as last semester.  I think it was just that one frustrating teacher.  I have since learned that neither students nor other professors are very fond of her.  That must be hard.  Regardless, I won’t take her class again.

beowulf-2

Unfortunately, I will be seeing Grendel and Beowulf again. Ugh.

Even with better teachers I’m still struggling.  Writing assignments have become particularly difficult, and the thought of staying in school beyond an AA degree leaves me in tears.  I’m supposed to be a writer!  What the heck?!  So I met with my favorite Professor K. for an attitude adjustment.  It worked.  She convinced me that I don’t hate writing, and that eventually a university will pay me to get my MFA with them.  “Just hang in there,” she said.  “It’ll get better, and you won’t regret it.”  She told me to put my fears in her open hands, and then put them in a real jar on a shelf, with a green lid and a label that said Fear Jar.  So that was that.  I don’t know if it was the talk or the jar, but now I can think about moving forward without falling apart.

Speaking of moving forward...

Speaking of moving forward…

As of today Jess is 33 weeks along.  I had her at 34 weeks so she’s a little nervous, but the doctor assures her that Ava isn’t going anywhere anytime soon.   She’s happily wriggling around Jess’s insides, throwing an elbow here and a head-butt there, stretching out and making her Mommy very uncomfortable.

A few months ago Daddy found a clothing store throwing out the last of the clearance items that didn’t sell, and rescued some infant t-shirts:

tshirts before

Seven identical boys’ t-shirts, to be exact.

I’m not one to be picky about little girls wearing the “wrong” thing, I’m really not, but this is just ridiculous.  One of these shirts, okay.  But seven?  Come on.  Jess felt the way I did, but she didn’t want to hurt Daddy’s feelings because he was so proud of himself.  *eye roll*

Oma to the rescue.  I got a hold of Linda, who put me in touch with Cheryl, and we hatched a plan.  Look what she did:

tshirts after 1 tshirts after 2 tshirts after 3

Could you just?  I mean really.  It was supposed to be a surprise but I couldn’t hold it, I had to show Jess.  Squeals and aaaaawwwwws  ensued.  Cheryl  has a few more tricks up her sleeve, so when I get everything back I’ll share the whole project.

And that’s it.  Stay warm and comfy!  Spring is coming, I promise.

10 thoughts on “Forward Movement

  1. Even if you feel like a whiner, you do it so well that it’s downright entertaining. I wish I’d been told about that Fear Jar years and years and years ago. Would have saved me so much needless angst. I was at your school back in the early ’60s, and not one of my teachers mentioned this miraculous jar. Is it a new invention, or were they just hiding the secret?

  2. Hang in, i hung my throat on a hook over Literary Criticism and so much pontification, but some makes sense now; it will all slide into a fit some time down he road; i love the creativity of the baby clothes; hang in dahlin; glad you had someone to go to; God jar’s work on the same premises, but fear jar sounds awesome.

  3. I agree with the jar thing. I learned that a long time ago in church. I don’t have a literal jar, but at night when my mind sometimes races with problems I have no answer for, I imagine writing them on a piece of paper and putting in a box on my night stand. I can always take them out in the morning.

  4. These dresses are just adorable, and how wonderful! Your daughter is just beaming…and bursting. 🙂 That little darling will be here before you know it, and she just has to have some little girl clothes. Every mom wants to dress her baby according to its sex, at least in the very early months. I think we at times feel like we’ve been given baby dolls. 🙂 And you hang in there, Janine. Seriously! Your being a writer isn’t at all dependent on your degree. I think it’s wonderful that you’re pursuing one, and you go just as far with that as you can. It’s all good, but you’re a writer NOW, and don’t let one (or more) professor(s) throw you off-course! Write, and be proud of what you create. ox

Leave a Reply

