Catch-Up Again

Oooooh my wonderful readers (all 4 of you), has it really been three weeks?  Way too long.

First off:  View Club shots:

Boone Sculpture Garden, 2-8-13

Boone Sculpture Garden, 2-8-13

Boone Sculpture Garden, 2-14-13

Boone Sculpture Garden, 2-14-13

Boone Sculpture Garden, 2-20-13

Boone Sculpture Garden, 2-20-13

Construction, 2-8-13

Construction, 2-8-13

Construction, 2-14-13

Construction, 2-14-13

Construction, 2-20-13

Construction, 2-20-13

San Gabriel Mountains, 2-8-13

San Gabriel Mountains, 2-8-13

San Gabriel Mountains, 2-14-13

San Gabriel Mountains, 2-14-13

San Gabriel Mountains, 2-20-13

San Gabriel Mountains, 2-20-13

Wait a minute…what’s that white stuff on the tippy-top of the mountains?  Could it be…?  Yes!  Yes it is!  SNOW!!!  Here’s what I saw when I left home that morning:

Snow in the 'hood.

Snow in the ‘hood.

Real snow!  No lie!

Real snow!  No lie!

With all that sun, though, I figured it wouldn’t last, and I was right.

San Gabriel Mountains, 3 hours later.

San Gabriel Mountains, 3 hours later.

Just the shadiest cracks, crevices, and canyons around Mt. Wilson (where the radio towers are) still had snow.

I’m still sacrificing my Sunday mornings to The Reyn.  I’m not picking it up as fast as Israel wishes I would, but when one only works 4 hours a week, one does not make much progress.  After one month I’ve logged as many hours as two days on a full-time job.  And who would expect a new employee to be proficient after 2 days?  But I’m getting there.  When I figure out how to keep my energy up and my muscles from crying, I’ll be golden.

Inscape is a week or two away from printing.  (There’s an explanation in this blog post, if you have no idea what I’m talking about.)   Going over the nonfiction pieces in December, I realized most of them were about people, or other tangible things that could be photographed.  And what better artwork to go with a nonfiction piece of writing than a nonfiction piece of art like photography?  Since he thought it was such a good idea, the faculty advisor made me the sort-of-official photo editor.  We weren’t allowed to notify authors that their written works had been accepted, just in case something had to be cut last-minute, but I got special permission to ask the nonfiction authors for photographs.  Every author I emailed sent me a photograph to go with their piece.  Yay!  I submitted some of my own photography, and commissioned a shot from my sister, Shelly, so she could see something of hers published.  The other editors thought my nepotism was a sweet big-sister gesture.

They also thought one of my shots would make a great wrap-around cover image for the book!  I was beyond excited; even more so than when they accepted my written piece.  But wouldn’t you know, as soon as the group voted to use my photograph, another editor walked in, literally seconds later, with an amazing hand-drawn cover.  Gagh!  Everyone kind of looked at each other awkwardly, until our print man said it made a perfect title page.  Whew!

Inscape cover proof

Inscape cover proof

There will be a minor change to the title and spine, but otherwise here it is!  AAAAHHHH!!!!!!!

I haven’t been able to participate much in my new club because their meetings are at the same time as Inscape, and since I’m getting independent study credit for Inscape, it takes precedence.  I have, however, attended all of the Inter-Club Council meetings, which I thought would be a cake walk.  And they are, but there’s more to it than just showing up:  we actually have to vote on stuff!  And pay attention to things like budgets and service hours.  As it turns out, volunteering to help out my club has led to a position in student government!  What the heck, man???

No new shots of Smushy.  Either I’ve been too tired, too busy, or Momma has been in the high desert with her own momma.  Smushy is two months old today, can you believe it?

I think that’s all.  It is very late and my brain is kind of fuzzy.  Have a wonderful weekend!

9 thoughts on “Catch-Up Again

  1. Great entry, Janine. Love the progression of photos, and particularly your mountain shots. Your written “Catch-up Again” is, as always, informative, entertaining, eye-opening, and enlightening. Congrats on the cover for “Inscape”. I like it very much. Classy.

Leave a Reply

