Playing Catch-Up

Last week was an incredibly exhausting week.  I had something extra to do every day.  It was a good kind of busy, but I’m still recovering this week.

I’ve taken three sets of View Club shots that I haven’t had time to share.  I’ll post all 3 so you can compare: a day after rain, a perfect sunny day, and an overcast morning.

I’m glad I caught shadows on the mountains.

San Gabriel Mountains, 1-28-13

San Gabriel Mountains, 1-28-13

San Gabriel Mountains, 1-31-13

San Gabriel Mountains, 1-31-13

I didn’t take a shot of the mountains this morning because I couldn’t see them, and I wasn’t in the mood to take a picture of plain grey.

Construction, 1-28-13

Construction, 1-28-13

Construction, 1-31-13

Construction, 1-31-13

Construction, 2-5-13

Construction, 2-5-13

Don’t the clouds in the pic below look photoshopped in?  And I never noticed before, but you can just see the mountains between the building and the trees to the right of it.

Boone Sculpture Garden, 1-28-13

Boone Sculpture Garden, 1-28-13

Boone Sculpture Garden, 1-31-13

Boone Sculpture Garden, 1-31-13

Boone Sculpture Garden,  2-5-13

Boone Sculpture Garden, 2-5-13

Back in December Israel, the owner of my favorite little coffee shop, The Reyn, heard me tell Jess that I’d enjoy working there, and read me the riot act for not applying when he was looking for a weekend waitress.  He ended up hiring two young guys, neither of which were working out.  He told them each they’d have one more chance to improve (meaning roughly a month), and if they didn’t, he was letting them go.  If I was serious, he told me, I could fill out an application, and when both kids were gone, he’d have me start.  He said “when,” not “if,” because he really didn’t have much hope for them, but if they did indeed surprise him he would stick by his word.  One kid didn’t finish out the month: just before Christmas he stopped showing up.  The other kid became stellar half the time, and a waste of space the other half.

On a recent Saturday Israel called me at home.  He ended up cutting back the remaining kid’s hours so that he only worked on Saturdays, in the hopes that the kid would just quit.  Was I interested in Sundays?

I don’t need to tell you my answer, do I?

So I’ve worked 2 Sundays already, only 3 hours each because that’s all he really needs right now, but whew!  I’m not as young as I used to be, so that first day I went home absolutely exhausted.  Last weekend was slow because of the Super Bowl (the biggest game of the year for American football), but my theory is that this weekend no one will want to cook and they’ll all come to us.  For Israel’s sake I hope I’m right because he needs the business, but for my sake I hope I’m wrong.  In the meantime, the kid has been working extra hard and begging for his Sundays back, much to Israel’s dismay because he really just wants the kid to go away.

I have new pics of Smushy.  I promised his mommy I’d do my best to take a weekly pic of him, so we can put them all together someday and watch him grow again.

Smushy, 4 weeks old

Smushy, 4 weeks old

He’s starting to try to focus on faces, which is exciting because it’s his very first step toward consciousness, as opposed to sheer infant instinct  He is also starting to keep his poor parents up all night, and they in turn are begining to understand animals who eat their young.

Smushy at 1 month

Smushy at 1 month

My grandmother has decided that I’m taking too long with her book, so she’s taking it out of my hands.  I have instructions to turn over what I have done so far.   I’m not really sad about it because I can still put it together the way I want someday.  What does make me sad, though, is that her expectations are unrealistic and there’s nothing we can do about it.    We can’t reason with her because even if she does understand, two minutes later she doesn’t anymore.  All I can do is give her what she wants as timely as possible.  It has been a tedious endeavor, just trying to gather everything into some sort of legible collection.  Especially when there are not enough hours in the day as it is.  Ugh.

I don’t know how widespread the story is, but there is currently a manhunt going on here in southern California for an ex police officer who has killed 3 people: a young couple in a car and a police officer on a routine patrol.  One of the victims in the car was a Public Safety Officer at USC, my former place of employment.  I didn’t know him, but my friends who are still there did, and are mourning their lost friend and his fiance, as well as the third comrade in law enforcement.  Please keep these family and friends, and a safe end to this frightening ordeal, in your thoughts and prayers.

6 thoughts on “Playing Catch-Up

    • I hear ya, Marie. I’m at that in-between stage where I’m done, but grandkids are many, many years away (hopefully). Smushy is the only baby I get for awhile.

    • Linda…he wrote a 20-page manifesto about being a life-long victim of racism, from his school days all the way to his firing from LAPD in 2008. He said the LAPD ordeal ruined his life. So they think he is targeting the people he mentions in the manifesto. The first couple he killed were the daughter and future son-in-law of one of those people. The others had no connection to him: they were just cops Dorner happened to see on patrol. The police are very on edge. A pick-up matching Dorner’s approached the house of someone on the list, and the police opened fire. Turned out to be two women delivering newspapers.

Leave a Reply

