View Club Day and Parrots

I have nothing interesting to report today.  Spanish class was canceled yesterday, went to Creative Writing class today, took my View Club shots.  It was raining, which made me happy, but my umbrella, already bent, snapped outright in two spots!  Booooo!

San Gabriel Mountains, 1-24-13

San Gabriel Mountains, 1-24-13

The only downside to clouds collecting around the hills is that I lose my focal point behind them.  It’s a small price to pay.

Construction, 1-24-13

Construction, 1-24-13

Boone Sculpture Garden, 1-24-13

Boone Sculpture Garden, 1-24-13

After school I found my step-dad with his camera on the porch.  He pointed to the tree in front of the house.

Wild parrot

Wild parrot

Parrots!  This area has a thriving population of wild green parrots.  Legend has it that these birds are descendants of birds that were freed during a pet store fire.  My step-dad says it was a place called Simpson’s Garden Town in Pasadena, which had, among other outdoor-related retail offerings, a pet store.  The entire complex burned to the ground in a massive fire in November 1959.

Two parrots.

Two parrots.

They travel in huge, noisy flocks.  They usually stay far away from people, so to get these pictures was a treat.  Sometimes we catch a glimpse of yellow-marked varieties in the walnut tree in the backyard, but this flock had smatterings of red and blue.  Upon further research I found out they are called Red-Crowned Parrots, are endangered in their native Mexico, and that the Los Angeles Natural History Museum is tracking the wild flocks around here.  So I sent them the info about this lot.

If you like hidden object games, try my version:

Click on this picture:  how many parrots can you find?

Click on this picture: how many parrots can you find?

How about this one?

How about this one?

Have a great day!

7 thoughts on “View Club Day and Parrots

  1. ¿Qué pasa, Janine? ¿Por qué se canceló la clase de español? I see you finally got some decent clouds for your San Gabriels. Bravo. For a time, I was half-suspecting that for the Boone Sculpture Garden you were using the same photo, because the students always seemed to be the same ones. But the fact that it rained and I can see the water on the sidewalks, you have been redeemed yourself. 😉

  2. I’m ADDICTED to hidden object games! Your Dad told the history of the parrots long ago. It’s fun to see them captured in a photo though.

    • Crazy isn’t it? On the L.A. Natural History site it says they are definitely the descendants of pet parrots gone loose, but doesn’t mention the fire.

Leave a Reply

