New for 2013

This holiday season was a particularly hard one for me.  Not that the holidays were bad, because they weren’t: times are lean, but I still have my family and friends, a roof over my head, and children who survived past the age of 6.  Those post-holiday blues, though, hit me like a ton of bricks.

And then, before 2013 could even get a foothold, this little guy showed up:

Image

DJ, 15 hours old

My new nephew, Dominique, Jr., decided it was time to come out and play, fooling the doctors who told his mommy he was nice and snug and not going anywhere for another week or so.   Jess and I went to visit them in the hospital today, with flowers, balloons and Cheez-Its in tow.

Image

We have about a dozen shots just like this.

Mommy did great and is resting uncomfortably, as new mommies do.  Daddy is completely in love.  DJ’s tiny face is just the smushiest.  I went into mommy mode, not with the baby but with my sis-in-law:  I fixed her socks, rubbed her head and her shoulders, validated her discomfort, comforted her fears, and snuggled.  It was sweet to have her folded in my arms with her head on my shoulder, as if that’s exactly what she needed.

Visiting hours start up in 15 minutes again, and we promised we’d be back.  I know the first thought is to let her rest, but I hated being stuck in that tiny utilitarian hospital room alone, and she seems to share the feeling.  I had to share the good news, though.  Blew that post-holiday depression right down the road.

Oh, stats!  (Other moms always want stats, don’t we?) DJ was born on 1-1-13 at 8:25 pm, 7 lbs even, 20 1/2 inches, no complications, all 10 fingers and all 10 toes present and accounted for.

5 thoughts on “New for 2013

Leave a Reply

