New Blog Project: The View Club

Soooo hey everyone.   I’m starting a photo project inspired by a couple of bloggie friends at My Little Corner of Rhode Island and The Kitchen’s Garden.  It’s called the View Club.  We take a picture of the same view at regular intervals for an entire year.

I chose a view of the mountains from the top floor of a parking garage at school. Usually it’s quite stunning, but today, of course, the first day I snap the shot, it’s hazy:

San Gabriel Mountains, 11/26

I made a conscious decision to include the parking lot in the shot, but I may rethink that.  Since the mountain view was so disappointing today, I chose a couple alternate views, also from the parking structure.

I don’t know what this is going to be, but I thought it would be fun to watch the progress:

Construction site, 11/26

The construction is adjacent to an area called the Boone Sculpture Garden:

Boone Sculpture Garden, 11-26

If you click on the picture you’ll get a larger view and you can clearly see a horse made out of wood and tree bark.  The other pieces are hidden by trees.  The nice thing about this view is that I take it from a covered landing, so it’s an easy shot in case it rains, although that’s not usually a concern here in Southern California.

I couldn’t chose among the three, so I’m using all of them.  It’s literally only a few steps from one view to the other, so what the heck, right?  My plan is to take the pictures on Mondays and Wednesdays at 11:15 am.  I’ll try to post each picture the same day I take it.

Yay!  This is going to be great.  ❤

4 thoughts on “New Blog Project: The View Club

  1. This is fun, Janine, and I like the places you’ve selected as targets. I’ve been kind of doing the same thing for some time now with the San Gabriel Mountains, a number of cemeteries in the area, and botanic gardens. Sadly, I can’t say that I shoot everything from the same angle on certain specific days and hours, but there are a number of places or objects that I do repeat shots of—for example, the Greek Orthodox Chapel at Rose Hills Memorial Park, in Whittier, California, at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/swpulley/sets/72157620787628250/

    • I love your cemetery pictures, Steve. I never did get to the Sierra Madre Pioneer Cemetery to take pictures while it was still at it’s greenest. Wouldn’t that be a fun place for a daily shot? I really need to do more wandering photography. I think it would be good for my soul.

      • My shots of the Sierra Madre Pioneer Cemetery are found in the link below. I’ve only been there that one time, but it’s a place that definitely has all kinds of photographic possibilities.

        Sierra Madre Pioneer Cemetery
  2. By the way, my dad was a close friend of pioneer Los Angeles photographer, the late Bill Reagh, who spent several decades taking pictures of places in that city, so you could watch the progression of the city over 50 years from the same vantage points. If you google his name* in the images section, you can see a lot of representative shots from his vast collection.
    *try “Bill Reagh”, “William Reagh”, “William Reagh Los Angeles photographer” and the like.

Leave a Reply

