Noncation, Day 5

Day 5

6:15 am:  Wake up against my will.  I refuse to acknowledge that I’m awake.  I go back to sleep.

8:45 am: Much better.  Shall I do the Reyn for breakfast?  I’m not awake enough to make a decision.  I turn on the computer and conduct morning house-sitting duties.

9:00 am:  Check email, catch up on blogs, and pretend to ignore the nearly-empty Famous Amos cookie bag, that devil.

9:45 am: Edit “Noncation, Day 3.” I read about my leftover veggie burger and remember that I have leftovers from last night in the fridge!  Score!  Maybe I’ll do the Reyn for lunch, if I feel up to eating out alone.

12:30 pm: Really want the Reyn; really don’t want to eat alone.  I used to have a friend I’d lunch with all the time, but I had to cut her loose.  It would be nice to call her today.  Then I remember why I fired her and the feeling passes.  I think my former sister-in-law (FSIL) might be home today, so I text her and ask if she’s free.  She’s currently waiting for her husband (HH) to pick her up from work, otherwise she’s available.  I invite them both to lunch.  Yay!

1:00 pm:  Meet FSIL & HH at the Reyn.  We have a most enjoyable lunch.  They’re adorable.

HH& FSIL

Aren’t they too cute?

2:00 pm: HH goes to work, which is only a few blocks away.  He’ll pick up FSIL at my parents’ house after work.  FSIL asks for help with a quick school paper.  I happily oblige.

3:30 pm:  Chat for several hours with FSIL.  I’ve known her since she was 4; she is now 26.  She’s been married for a year and is expecting her first child in January.  She works part-time at a preschool and attends Pacific Oaks College, a very prestigious private teaching college.  I’m so proud of her.

My favorite part of our chat starts with, “If I have a girl you’ll have to teach me how to braid!”  I had the same dilemma with my first pregnancy.  The fanciest thing I did with my hair was pull it into a ponytail, and I was having a biracial child:  what was I going to do if I had a girl?  FSIL isn’t exactly a hair wizard either.  Fortunately I did have a girl, and I’ve learned a few tricks in the 19 years since she was born.  Plus there are plenty of other women in FSIL’s life who can help.  She’ll know for sure if she needs hair-wrangling lessons next month when she has her ultrasound.  It’s scheduled for the day of her first wedding anniversary.  How precious is that!

5:00 pm:  Mom calls.  They are in Chowchilla, CA, about 275 miles away.  They’ll be home tonight around 11pm, so I can go home whenever I’m ready.  Are you kidding me?!  They’re going to drive 6 hours after a full day of driving and walking and sight-seeing? I strongly urge them to reconsider, and assure Mom I won’t leave until they’re home.  FSIL shakes her head and laughs at my parents, the intrepid road warriors.

8:00 pm:  I bring home dinner from Bobby’s, a small burger stand a few blocks away.  Their tacos and fries are amazing.  FSIL, HH, Joe, and I watch the Olympic opening ceremonies together.  Mom calls again.  Rob says they’ll stay another night if I’m willing to stay another night.  Of course!  Please don’t drive home tonight!

11:30 pm:  Opening ceremonies are over.  Everyone is gone.  Nighttime house-sitting chores are done.  Kitchen light is on.  Nightie-night!

One thought on “Noncation, Day 5

Leave a Reply

